Skip to content
CarCaseFile

Case file · TOYOTA-CAMRY-2018-2024 · Cost ledger

Toyota Camry 2018–2024 · Maintenance schedule & cost to maintain

CarCaseFile editorial · filed 07-03-2026 · updated 09-02-2026

Scheduled service only, not the documented problems (those are on the case file's problem list, with their own cost calculator). Every interval and cost range below is sourced, not estimated.

Where the manufacturer publishes separate normal and severe-condition schedules, this ledger defaults to the severe interval and says so. That's not us padding the numbers: a manufacturer's own severe-duty list usually describes ordinary driving, things like short trips, stop-and-go traffic, extended idling, dust or road salt. But the list is written per manufacturer and sometimes per model year, and some are far narrower than others, so each item's "why" text names what this manufacturer actually wrote and gives the normal-schedule number alongside it. Read the item, not this paragraph.

← Full case file

Track Toyota Camry 2018–2024

What's due on MY 2018–2024 Toyota Camry right now?

Enter your mileage. We'll check it against this car's full schedule below.

Cumulative cost

What routine maintenance adds up to, by mileage

Running total of the independent-shop cost ranges below. Each bar is everything due by that point, added to everything before it.

Every 5,000–10,000 mi $155–$270 10,000 mi $195–$435 30,000 mi $625–$1,320 60,000 mi $1,235–$2,380 60,000–100,000 mi $2,785–$5,060 100,000 mi $2,965–$5,340 120,000 mi $3,335–$6,000 150,000+ mi $3,725–$6,586 Event-triggered $4,425–$7,786 5 years $4,575–$8,066

Solid bar = low estimate, tint = high estimate. This is a routine-maintenance floor, not a total cost of ownership. Fuel, insurance, tires, and any of the documented problems above are separate. Items that recur more than once per interval under a severe-duty schedule (an air filter due every 5k, say) are counted here at one occurrence, not the full repeat total. The real cumulative spend for a high-mileage severe-duty driver runs higher than this chart shows.

Parts below link to Amazon, and to eBay for tires. Those are affiliate links, so we may earn a commission if you buy. Your price is the same either way, and a commission never changes what this page says.

Every 5,000–10,000 mi (oil service)

  • Engine oil and filter: 2.5L A25A-FKS gas and A25A-FXS hybrid (severe-schedule default)

    $75–$130 DIY-realistic

    Toyota's schedule allows 10,000 miles on synthetic, but short trips and heavy idling cut that to about 5,000. Plan around the lower number. The four-cylinder takes 0W-16 and 4.8 quarts, so one 5-quart jug covers it. The V6 takes 0W-20 and 5.7 quarts: buy six.

    On this generation

    • The 10,000-mile interval only counts when 0W-16 actually went in. Toyota's own schedule carries a note at every checkpoint: if 0W-16 was not used at the last change, the oil comes out at 5,000 miles, and a 0W-20 stopgap fill goes back to 0W-16 at the next change. If a quick lube substituted 0W-20, treat the fill in the engine right now as due at 5,000.
    • Skip intake-valve cleaning upsells (induction service, walnut blasting) on the 2.5L. This engine pairs port and direct injection, and the port injectors wash the intake valves in normal driving, so the carbon buildup those services target is a direct-injection-only problem this engine was designed around.
  • Engine oil and filter: 3.5L 2GR-FKS V6 (severe-schedule default)

    $80–$140 DIY-realistic

    Same schedule as the four-cylinder (Toyota's 10,000 miles/12 months normal, 5,000 miles/6 months under its Special Operating Conditions), but a different oil grade, a different capacity, and a different filter, which is why the V6 is priced as its own line here instead of being averaged in. The owner's manual specification table calls for ILSAC GF-5, SAE 0W-20, 5.7 quarts with a filter change (5.6 without); 5W-20 is permitted only as a stopgap and 'must be replaced with SAE 0W-20 at the next oil change.' Be careful with capacity numbers you find online for this car: several catalogs list 6.4 quarts, which is the PREVIOUS-generation Camry V6 figure carried forward, and at least one dealer page lists 6.1. Toyota's own manual for the 2018–2024 car says 5.7. That's the number to buy oil against, and it's the reason the parts counter's 'six quarts' rule of thumb overfills this engine. The V6 also uses a replaceable cartridge element in a housing (Toyota 04152-YZZA1), not the spin-on can the 2.5L uses, so the 'shop this part' link on the four-cylinder item above does not fit this engine. Check the parts desk entry's own fitment note before ordering. Cost-wise the V6 lands slightly higher than the four-cylinder despite 0W-20 being a cheaper, mainstream grade, because you're buying about a quart more of it and a cartridge kit rather than a spin-on.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), Toyota (owner's manual), Tustin Toyota, Toyota (AWD guide), Toyota (hybrid guide), MotorReviewer, DAX Street

10,000 mi

  • Cabin air filter (Toyota's factory baseline, no separate severe number)

    $25–$45 DIY-realistic

    Toyota's own maintenance log replaces this every 10,000 miles/12 months as the base schedule for every Camry. That is not a normal-vs-severe split. This is what every owner gets straight from the factory chart, already more aggressive than many rivals' cabin-filter intervals. Toyota's guide adds that heavy traffic, dirt roads, or urban/desert/dusty areas may shorten the filter's life further and call for more frequent swaps, but it doesn't publish a second numeric interval for that case, so 10k is the one real numbers to use.

  • Hybrid battery cooling intake filter: inspect and clean (hybrid only)

    $15–$120 DIY-realistic

    The hybrid's high-voltage battery cools itself with cabin air drawn through an intake filter that catches dust, lint, and pet hair. Toyota's service bulletin says inspect it every 5,000 miles and do the full cleaning every 20,000, and the hybrid's factory schedule adds the cleaning for stop-and-go, taxi-style driving. A clogged filter makes the pack run hot, and heat is what ages the pack.

    On this generation

    • A torn or damaged filter must be replaced, not cleaned, and the filter is its own cheap part (Toyota G92DH-33050, catalog-listed for every 2018–2024 Camry Hybrid). Toyota's bulletin also covers a deeper battery cooling fan cleaning for packs already caked in lint, so a shop quoting that bigger job is quoting a real Toyota procedure.

    Parts for this job

    Hybrid battery cooling intake filter

    All options on the parts desk →

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), Toyota (TSB), Toyota (parts catalog), Toyota (hybrid guide)

30,000 mi

  • Engine air filter (factory interval, no distinct severe mileage published)

    $30–$55 DIY-realistic

    Toyota's factory maintenance log calls for replacement at 30,000 miles/36 months as the baseline for every Camry. For dusty/dirt-road driving, Toyota's own schedule only adds more frequent INSPECTION checkpoints (every 5,000 miles) rather than a second numeric replacement mileage, so there's no distinct severe number to default to here. The honest move is to use Toyota's one published figure and inspect sooner if you're regularly on dirt roads.

  • Front brake pads (wear-based, not a fixed factory mileage)

    $150–$320 DIY-realistic

    Toyota's schedule only calls for a visual inspection (with thickness measurement starting at 30k). There's no replacement mileage, because pad wear depends entirely on driving style. For an average city/highway mix on the gas 2.5L or V6, front pads commonly need their first change somewhere in the 30k–55k range; the hybrid, which uses regenerative braking to do most of the slowing, routinely goes much longer. Inspect at this point rather than assume a number.

  • Brake fluid flush (no factory mileage published, inspection only)

    $100–$190 Shop job

    This is the honest gap: Toyota's Warranty & Maintenance Guide and Owner's Manual for this generation both call only for a periodic brake-fluid LEVEL/CONDITION check (part of the every-5,000-mile 'inspect and adjust all fluid levels' line). There is no scheduled replacement mileage published anywhere in Toyota's own materials for the XV70 Camry, not even a normal-schedule number, unlike coolant or the severe-duty ATF item. DOT 3 fluid is hygroscopic regardless of what the factory schedule says, so independent shops commonly recommend a proactive flush every 2–3 years (roughly 30,000 miles at typical US mileage). Treat that as reasonable practice, not a documented Toyota requirement.

  • Rear differential and transfer case oil: AWD trims only (inspect normally, replace under towing/heavy load)

    $150–$320 Shop job

    Applies only to the 2020+ AWD four-cylinder trims. AWD adds a transfer case up front and a differential in back, and Toyota treats both as sealed under normal driving: the schedule inspects them for leaks only. Towing, car-top carriers, or heavy loading flips both to a fluid replacement every 15,000 miles.

    On this generation

    • If a dealer menu adds an AWD driveline service to every visit on a car that never tows, that is ahead of Toyota's own book, which calls for leak inspection only under normal driving.
    • Toyota's AWD schedule also re-torques the driveshaft (propeller shaft) bolts every 15,000 miles, a line item FWD Camrys don't have. It takes minutes, so ask for it whenever the car is already on a lift, especially where roads get salted.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), Toyota (owner's manual), brakefluidreplacementcost.com, Toyota (AWD guide), TDA service schedules, YourMechanic

60,000 mi

  • Automatic transmission fluid (UA80 8-speed, gas trims only, severe-schedule default)

    $220–$360 Shop job

    Toyota's normal schedule for the 8-speed automatic has NO scheduled fluid replacement at all, only a periodic inspection for leaks. But Toyota's own special-operating-conditions list adds 'Replace automatic transmission fluid' at the 60,000-mile checkpoint specifically for towing/heavy-load driving and for extensive idling or low-speed driving (police, taxi, delivery-type use), conditions that describe a lot of ordinary US commuting. Use that 60k severe number as the default rather than assuming this transmission never needs fluid service; it repeats at 120k. Doesn't apply to the hybrid, which uses a CVT/eCVT transaxle instead of this 8-speed. For the hybrid transaxle, Toyota's normal schedule lists no fluid change at all, and its own special-conditions list adds a replacement at 60,000 and 120,000 miles only for towing or heavy-load use, so a hybrid that never tows is a factory lifetime fill.

  • Spark plugs (2GR-FKS V6 only, factory interval)

    $280–$480 Shop job

    Toyota's own schedule singles out the 3.5L V6 for an earlier plug change than the four-cylinder engines: 60,000 miles/72 months, versus 120,000 for the 2.5L. This is a real factory number, not a severe-default. Spark plug replacement on Toyota's schedule is tied to the Emissions Control Warranty. Budget more labor here than a 4-cylinder job; the V6's rear bank is harder to reach.

  • Serpentine (drive) belt: inspection point (wear-based, no fixed replace mileage)

    $110–$220 DIY-realistic

    The belt runs on an automatic tensioner (Toyota's own spec table lists 'drive belt tension: automatic adjustment'), so there's nothing to manually adjust, but the belt itself still wears. Toyota's maintenance log calls for the first inspection at 60,000 miles/72 months, then every 15,000 miles/18 months after that; replace on visible cracking or glazing rather than a fixed mileage. A snapped belt on this engine takes out the alternator and A/C compressor drive at once (steering on this generation is electric and doesn't ride this belt), so don't stretch past an inspection that flags wear.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), Toyota (owner's manual), transmissionfluidchangecost.com, RepairPal, Toyota (hybrid guide)

60,000–100,000 mi

  • Shocks and struts (wear-based, no factory interval)

    $500–$900 Shop job

    Toyota doesn't publish a wear-out mileage for struts. This is a wear item, not a scheduled-maintenance line, and there's no documented suspension defect on this generation the way the 8th-gen Civic has its rear-camber issue (this Camry's commonProblems are fuel pump, brake vacuum pump, transmission, and coolant valve, nothing suspension-related). A realistic independent-shop window for the first front struts is 50,000–100,000 miles, sooner on rough roads. The interaction that matters: worn struts cause uneven or cupped tire wear on their own, independent of alignment. If you're chasing a tire-wear complaint and the alignment checks out fine, the struts are the next thing to inspect, not another alignment. The front uses struts and the rear uses shock absorbers, so a full worn-out set is two front struts plus two rear shocks, not four identical parts. The giveaway is in the part numbers: one number covers both rear corners (48530-8Z055 on SE and XSE, 48530-8Z054 on XLE), which no strut can do, because a strut carries a handed spring seat and knuckle mount. The front is handed, 48510 right and 48520 left.

  • Front CV axle (wear-based, no factory interval)

    $320–$580 Shop job

    No factory inspection interval is published; start checking the rubber boots for cracks or tears around 60,000 miles or 5 years old, with a realistic 70,000–130,000-mile life span before a boot splits. The interaction that turns a cheap problem expensive: a torn boot flings CV-joint grease off the spinning axle onto anything nearby, including the front brake pads and rotor. Grease-contaminated pads have to be replaced, not just cleaned, so a $300–$600 axle job ignored for a few thousand miles can turn into a brake job too. Once a boot has actually torn, the standard independent-shop fix is a full axle assembly, not a boot-only reseal, since grease has already flung and contamination has usually started.

  • Front lower control arm (wear-based, no factory interval)

    $280–$480 Shop job

    No manufacturer mileage exists for this. It's rubber aging plus mileage. A generic realistic range is 70,000–120,000 miles on normal roads, dropping to 50,000–80,000 on a rough-road or harsh-climate car (constant freeze-thaw or pothole-heavy roads accelerate bushing wear); rubber also degrades with age even on a low-mileage car, so figure 8–10 years as an outer limit regardless of odometer. The interaction that wastes money: worn bushings let the control arm shift under load, so a wheel alignment done on a car with sloppy bushings won't hold. It drifts back out of spec within weeks and the alignment money is wasted. If a car keeps needing re-alignment, check the bushings before paying for another alignment.

    Parts for this job

    Front lower control arm

    All options on the parts desk →
  • Motor mounts: inspect (wear-based, no factory interval)

    $450–$720 Shop job

    Toyota schedules nothing here, mounts are wear parts. Factory rubber mounts commonly make 100,000 miles or more, aging faster with stop-and-go duty, rough roads, or oil leaking onto the rubber. The signs owners actually notice: a clunk shifting into drive or reverse, idle vibration in gear that fades in neutral, or the engine lurching under throttle. Cost range is per mount, independent shop.

    On this generation

    • A worn mount rarely fails alone for long. The extra engine movement works over the exhaust hangers and the remaining mounts, which now carry load they were not built for, and Camry vibration cases that stayed fixed had the mounts and exhaust hangers done together rather than one at a time.

Sources: strutreplacementcost.com, thecostguys.com, RepairPal (control arms), RepairPal (engine mounts), YourMechanic, RepairPal (case history), Condor Speed Shop

100,000 mi

  • Coolant (first factory service, all engines)

    $180–$280 Shop job

    Toyota's own schedule calls for the FIRST coolant drain/flush/refill at 100,000 miles/120 months on Genuine Toyota Super Long-Life Coolant (or an equivalent non-silicate, non-amine, non-borate long-life hybrid organic-acid coolant), a real generation-specific number, not a guess, and notably later than many older Toyota generations. If a non-Toyota-spec coolant is used, Toyota states the interval may be shorter. No distinct severe-condition number is published for coolant on this generation, so this one published figure serves as both the normal and default number here.

    On this generation

    • Hybrid owners: this 100,000-mile service covers the engine loop only. The inverter runs its own separate coolant circuit on its own schedule, first change at 150,000 miles or 180 months and every 50,000 after that, and a shop doing the engine coolant will not touch it unless you ask. Book the two loops as separate line items so neither gets skipped.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), YourMechanic, Toyota (hybrid guide), Did It Myself

120,000 mi

  • Spark plugs (A25A-FKS 2.5L gas and A25A-FXS hybrid, factory interval)

    $150–$300 DIY-realistic

    Toyota's schedule puts the four-cylinder plug change (both the standard 2.5L and the hybrid's 2.5L Atkinson-cycle engine) at 120,000 miles/144 months, twice the V6's 60k interval. These are long-life iridium plugs (Denso FC16HR-Q8 / Toyota 90919-01289), and running past due costs fuel economy and ignition-system wear before it costs a misfire.

  • Automatic transmission fluid (UA80, ongoing severe-schedule cadence)

    $220–$360 Shop job

    This is the second severe-duty service on Toyota's own special-operating-conditions list (60k, then 120k) for towing/heavy-load or extensive idling/taxi-style driving. If you've confirmed genuine light-duty highway use instead, Toyota's normal schedule still has no scheduled replacement at all for this transmission, inspection for leaks only.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), Toyota (spark plug chart), transmissionfluidchangecost.com

150,000+ mi

  • Coolant (ongoing service)

    $180–$280 Shop job

    Toyota's own footnote is explicit: after the 100,000-mile first service, replace every 50,000 miles/60 months thereafter, so the next service lands at 150,000 miles, then 200,000, and so on. Not a one-time event.

  • Ignition coils (wear-based, no factory interval)

    $210–$306 DIY-realistic

    Toyota schedules no coil replacement at any mileage, so this is not a factory item. It earns a line here because the failure clusters in this range: RepairPal's Camry ignition-coil record puts average reported failure at 144,053 miles. Read that number with its limit in mind, it covers 1996-2016 Camrys and not this generation directly, so treat it as the pattern for the nameplate rather than a measured figure for an XV70. One coil sits on each cylinder, four on the 2.5L and the hybrid, six on the V6. Shops usually do the whole set once the first one fails, because the rest have identical hours on them and a second visit costs more than the extra coils. The cost shown on this item is RepairPal's 2022 Camry ignition-coil replacement estimate, with parts at $161 to $234 of it. Their page does not state how many coils that covers, so read it as the cost of dealing with one failure rather than a whole-set price, and get a per-coil quote before assuming a set. Easy work on the four-cylinder. The V6's rear bank is the same reach problem that makes its plug job a shop job.

    On this generation

    • A coil that is failing rather than dead shows up as a misfire code for one cylinder (P0301 through P0306, or a general P0300) before it strands anyone. Swapping the suspect coil to a different cylinder and seeing whether the code follows it is the free test that tells you whether it is the coil or the plug, and it costs nothing but the time to pull the cover.

Sources: Toyota (maintenance guide), RepairPal: Camry ignition coil may fail after 100,000 miles, average reported mileage 144,053, across 1996-2016 model years, RepairPal 2022 Camry ignition coil replacement estimate: $210 to $306, labor $49 to $72, parts $161 to $234. The page does not state how many coils the estimate covers

Event-triggered (not a mileage item)

  • Wheel alignment (event-triggered, plus a periodic check, no factory mileage)

    $100–$200 Shop job

    Toyota doesn't schedule alignment by mileage; it's triggered by events (new tires, any strut/CV-axle/front lower control arm work above, hitting a pothole or curb hard, or noticeable pull/uneven wear), plus a periodic check roughly every 12,000–15,000 miles or annually even with no complaint. The interaction that matters most on this whole list: skipping the alignment right after new tires or suspension work wastes part of the money just spent, since a misaligned car scrubs the new tires unevenly from day one and new struts or bushings settle into a bad geometry. This generation has no documented factory alignment defect the way some cars do. It's a generic wear-and-event item here, not a known weak point.

  • Tires: match to actual use (not a factory item, real ownership cost)

    $600–$1,000 Shop job

    The XV70 Camry is a FWD (or, on 2020+ LE/SE/XLE/XSE four-cylinder trims, AWD) commuter sedan. A standard all-season/touring tire is the correct call for every trim, including AWD. AWD on this car is a foul-weather traction aid, not an off-road system, so reaching for an all-terrain or aggressive-tread tire buys nothing but worse wet-road grip, more road noise, and shorter tread life. There's no upside on a car that will never leave pavement. Budget a quality all-season set roughly every 50,000–70,000 miles depending on tire line and driving; and per the alignment item above, a fresh set is the trigger for an alignment check, not an optional add-on. On the AWD trims specifically: the tread-depth-matching rule DOES apply here. The Dynamic Torque Control AWD system is electronically coupled rather than a full-time mechanical center differential, but it still reads wheel-speed differences to decide when to send torque rearward, and a tread-depth mismatch across axles (commonly cited threshold: no more than 2/32 in. difference) reads to the system as slip, causing the rear coupling to hunt/engage more than it should and wear prematurely. Replacing a single tire is fine only if the others aren't already worn down near that threshold; once tread depths diverge meaningfully, replace in a full set rather than one at a time. This doesn't apply to FWD trims or the FWD-only Hybrid, which has no rear coupling to protect.

Sources: RepairPal, Motor1, FourWheelAsk, ToyotaNation

5 years (any mileage)

  • Battery (calendar-based, replace by year 5 regardless of mileage)

    $150–$280 DIY-realistic

    This is the one item on this ledger that isn't about miles at all. A 12V lead-acid or AGM starter battery averages 3–5 years of service life no matter how many miles are on the odometer, and heat cycling/stop-and-go use ages it faster than steady highway driving. Standing guidance: start load-testing around year 3, and replace proactively by year 5 even if it's still starting the car fine. Same logic as an oil change, replace it before it strands you rather than waiting for a no-start. Get the correct BCI group size and cold-cranking-amp rating for the specific car: this generation splits by production date and engine: 2018–2019 gas trims use BCI Group H6 (LN3), 2020–2024 2.5L trims use the smaller H5 (LN2), and the 2020+ V6 stays on H6 (LN3), so verify against the label on the battery in the car, not just the model year. On where to buy it: some independent battery dealers claim big-box retailers (Costco is the common example people ask about) get a lower-tier SKU of the same brand than an independent shop stocks. That claim is CONTESTED. The retailers dispute it and there isn't clean two-source corroboration either way, so it isn't asserted here as fact. What IS real and checkable: warranty TERMS (length, and whether it's prorated or free-replacement) genuinely differ by retailer even for the identical battery brand, so compare the warranty paperwork before buying, not just the price tag.

Sources: Toyota (battery chart), Batteries Plus, AutoZone

Parts links go to Amazon, and to eBay for tires. Affiliate links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. Confirm fitment against your VIN before ordering, mid-generation changes exist.

CarCaseFile.com/vehicles/toyota-camry-2018-2024/cost-to-maintain/ · Independent case files on used cars · We buy our own parts. Nobody pays for a verdict.